All is set fair for the opening meeting of the season at Mildenhall Speedway, proudly sponsored by Manchetts Rescue and Recovery, today at 3pm (Sunday 10/4) with the staging of the GB Under 21 championship semi-final.

Fen Tigers’ teenaged heat leader Jason Edwards carries the hopes of the home fans aiming to take one of the six qualifying places up for grabs.  

There have been two late withdrawals, with Scotsman Gregor Millar and prospective 2022 UK Speedway debutant, hoping to ride for Oxford Chargers this term, Luke Killeen both unable to take up their places and so the two named meeting reserves step up into the 16 rider field. That means a place at this stage for a second year running for James Laker, who hails from Sandwich and this season captains the Iwade-based Sittingbourne Crusaders in the Midland & Southern Development League; and for Alex Goldsborough who is a stalwart of the burgeoning youth scene in his native north-east.

Two locally-based youngsters step in as meeting reserves – both hailing from Norfolk, William Robertson and Jody Scott featured in second half racing at West Row last year. 16-year-old William hails from Edingthorpe and began riding Speedway last year; whilst Jody turned 15 on Valentine’s Day and will love to have an opportunity as the youngest rider in the meeting and new to 500cc racing, to take whatever opportunity comes his way.

Riders in the revised line-up [in alphabetical order]:

Nathan Ablitt (Belle Vue Colts and Poole Pirates); Henry Atkins (Plymouth Centurions & Gladiators); Kyle Bickley  (Berwick Bullets & Bandits); JASON EDWARDS (Mildenhall Fen Tigers and Redcar Bears); Alex Goldsborough (Unattached); Jacob Fellows (Birmingham Bulls); Vinnie Foord (Leicester Lion Cubs); Archie Freeman (Belle Vue Colts); James Laker (Sittingbourne Crusaders); Sam Hagon (Oxford Chargers); Kyran Lyden (Redcar Cubs);  Harry McGurk (Belle Vue Colts); Sam McGurk (Belle Vue Colts); Mickie Simpson (Leicester Lion Cubs); Ben Trigger (Plymouth Centurions); Kai Ward (King’s Lynn Lightning).

Reserves: William Richardson; Jody Scott

Guest of honour this afternoon is an all-time great in Mildenhall Speedway’s history, Carl Baldwin – who, the club are delighted to announce, is able to attend as he continues his recovery from serious ill-health. Carl is himself a former GB Under 21 champion and is battling back from the debilitating effects of a stroke suffered in 2018. The club is backing a campaign to raise funds for continuing expensive weekly physiotherapy treatment for their former rider and will be holding a collection for Carl this afternoon.

Gates will open at 1.30pm, parade  starts at 2.40pm and tapes are up for the start of the action at 3:00pm

Address: Mildenhall Speedway, Hayland Drove, West Row, Mildenhall, Suffolk, IP28 8QU

Track ‘phone number: 01638 711777

Social Media Links

facebook logo

Instagram logo

Club Honours

2023 NL KOC Winners
2022 NL Runners Up
2021 NL Champions
2018 NL Trophy Winners
2017 NL Trophy Winners
2014 NL Trophy Winners
2012 NL Champions
NL Fours Champions
NL Pairs Champions
NL KOC Winners
NL Trophy Winners
2011 NL KOC Winners
NL Runners Up
2004 CL Champions
CL Fours Champions
CL KOC Winners
CL Trophy Winners
2003 CL Champions
CL KOC Winners
2002 CL Trophy Winners
2000 CL Cup Winners
1987 Fours Champions
Pairs Champions
1984 Fours Champions
1979 NL Champions